The Royal Wedding


In the mere month and a half I have spent away from this blog, you will not believe the thousands of things I have done. I feel like three or four months have passed, instead of just the one. Either way, let’s hope I will be able to get back on the horse and begin updating regularly again.

But on to more important matters. I’ve had this blog post ready in my mind for a while – actually, since the 29th of April. If you don’t know the significance of that date, don’t worry. It’s not a life-or-death matter. It is merely significant if you remember waking up that morning and seeing a wedding all over your news station.

I was neither for or against The Royal Wedding, but I know plenty of people at my school who hated the publicity of it. There were mostly three points as to why the wedding was obnoxious and silly – why it shouldn’t have been so publicized – that I ran into. Throughout the day, I was infuriated to no end by the negativity and now, I’m going to take my chance to make my rebuttals.

1) We live in America.

To state this so simply is absurd. Yes, we live in America. Yes, we are different from other countries. Yes, we have our own set of problems and triumphs. However, there is also the internet, and international communication, that binds all countries together now. To ignore this is ludicrous and takes us years back in our growth as, not only a nation, but a world.

2) Those of The Royal Family are barely political figures.

While it is true that Parliament holds more political power now, that is completely beside the point. A girl I talked with said that they are essentially celebrities and there is no justification for fawning over their wedding or a regular celebrity’s wedding. My response: Who else would you rather get excited for on a mass scale? No one? That seems depressing. I find it refreshing to have something to cheer for on a grand scale such as this. Besides, just because someone is into politics does not make him or her any more of a good person than a celebrity.

3) There are more serious matters for the news to be focusing on.

Life, while a serious matter, should be not taken that way all the time. When on my deathbed, I know for a fact that I am not going to be thinking of the worldwide catastrophes I witnessed, nor the mistakes I made, nor the time I played video games (for hours) when I could have been productive. Instead, I am going to look at the lives I touched and who changed me for the better. So what is the harm in spending a few hours of one morning watching someone I don’t know have a grand wedding that thousands celebrate? What is that one day going to do to the world?

I’m not saying the wedding was the most important thing and every human should have stopped their daily routine for it. BUT I am saying that the negativity isn’t worth it. It isn’t worth the mood it puts you in, it isn’t worth the energy, and it isn’t worth sullying someone’s life-changing experience. The Royal Wedding was one emotional, happy day for many people – and there didn’t need to be a reason behind it.

About this entry